Skip to content ↓

Local Governing Committee

Welcome to the Governors' section!

The Local Governing Committee (LGC) of St Peter's Catholic Primary School is a Committee of the Bosco Catholic Education Trust Board, and operates under the Bosco Catholic Education Trust Scheme of Delegation.  The Committee is made up of volunteers who have statutory responsibilities under education legislation.  The LGC includes foundation governors (appointed by the Bishop), staff governor, parent governors and co-opted governors, all of whom work closely with the Headteacher in the strategic planning of the school and to develop a school which the whole community can feel proud of.  Specific responsibilities include setting targets for pupil achievement, managing the school's finances, making sure the curriculum is balanced and broadly based, appointing staff and reviewing staff performance and pay and many more.  Because St Peter's is a Voluntary Aided Church School there are additional responsibilities which include the admissions process, religious education and maintenance of the school buildings.  All Governors serve a 4 year term of office.

The Local Governing Committee operates a model of governance where the governing body works as a 'whole team' without any committees and meets every half term, or more if required.  This means that all governors have up to date information regarding the school and can offer timely support and challenge as well as take action should the need arise.

The focus for the first half term meeting is "Resources" discussing areas such as the financial management of the school, looking after issues around the school's staff both teaching and non-teaching, and ensuring that the buildings and grounds of the school are kept in excellent condition and in line with health and safety policies and procedures.

The focus for the second half term meeting is "Curriculum and Standards" discussing areas such as monitoring and evaluating the delivery of the curriculum, standards of teaching and learning and monitoring the strategies being implemented to improve attainment.  Governors will challenge and evaluate the impact of leadership and management, including their own role on the forward development of the school.

Governors Term of Office
Foundation Governors - appointed by the Bishop of Arundel & Brighton  
Mrs Jane Crowley 16/10/2020 - 15/10/2024
Mrs Chantal Stride - Vice Chair of Governors 04/11/2013 - 12/11/2025
Mr Tom O'Donovan - Chair of Governors 21/06/2013 - 31/08/2025
Mr Philip Richardson 24/11/2014 - 23/06/2026
Mrs Georgina Carter  01/09/2017 - 31/08/2022
Mrs Grainne Byrd 01/09/2017 - 31/08/2025

Revd Graham Ricketts

We currently have a vacancy for a Foundation Governor

08/01/2020 - 07/01/2024

Parent Governors - elected by parents  
Mr Michael Hatfield 01/12/2022 - 30/11/2026
Mrs Margisel Adams 22/11/2021 - 21/11/2025
Staff Governor - elected by staff  
Mrs Caroline Hodge 01/10/2020 - 30/09/2024
Co-Opted Governor - appointed by Adur & Worthing Council  
Mr Alex Hodson 15/03/2022 - 14/03/2026
Headteacher - Mrs Kate Crees  
Clerk to the Governors - Mrs Liz Matthews  
Associate Members  
Mrs Lianne Woodiwiss 03/09/2009 - 31/08/2023

If you would like to contact the Governors or the Clerk please either email 

or telephone 01273 454066