Home Page

Meet the Governors

Welcome to the Governors' section!

The Governing Body is made up of volunteers who have statutory responsibilities under education legislation.  The Governing Body includes foundation governors (appointed by the Bishop), staff governor, parent governors and local authority governor.  Governors work closely with the Headteacher in the strategic planning of the school and to develop a school which the whole community can feel proud of.  Specific responsibilities include setting targets for pupil achievement, managing the school's finances, making sure the curriculum is balanced and broadly based, appointing staff and reviewing staff performance and pay and many more.  Because St Peter's is a Voluntary Aided Church School there are additional responsibilities which include the admissions process, religious education and maintenance of the school buildings.  All Governors serve a 4 year term of office.
We meet as a full Governing Body every half term.  

The focus for the first half term meeting is "Resources" discussing areas such as the financial management of the school, looking after issues around the school's staff both teaching and non-teaching, and ensuring that the buildings and grounds of the school are kept in excellent condition and in line with health and safety policies and procedures.

The focus for the second half term meeting is "Curriculum6 and Standards" discussing areas such as monitoring and evaluating the delivery of the curriculum, standards of teaching and learning and monitoring the strategies being implemented to improve attainment.  Governors will challenge and evaluate the impact of leadership and management, including their own role on the forward development of the school.

Foundation Governors 
(Appointed by the Bishop of Arundel & Brighton
Mr Kevin Davis (Term of office 25/09/2012 - 16/10/2020)
Mrs Chantal Stride (Term of office 04/11/2013 - 12/11/2021)
Mr Tom O'Donovan (Term of office 21/06/2013 - 31/08/2021) Chair of Governors
Mr Philip Richardson (Term of office 24/11/2014 - 23/06/2022)
Mrs Georgina Carter (Term of office 01/09/2017 - 31/08/2021)  Vice Chair of Governors
Mrs Grainne Byrd (Term of office 01/09/2017 - 31/08/2021)
Revd Graham Ricketts (Term of office 08/01/2020 - 07/01/2020)

Parent Governors
(Elected by Parents)
Mrs Lisa James (Term of office 30/09/2014 - 04/10/2022)

Mr Jonathan Hull (Term of office 01/11/2017 - 31/10/2021)

Staff Governor
(Elected by Staff)
Mr Matthew English (Term of office 20/9/2016 - 19/09/2020)

L.A. Representative
(Appointed by Adur District Council)
Mr Julian Cosson (Term of office 20/9/2013 - 01/12/2021)

Mrs Kate Crees


Clerk to the Governors
Mrs Liz Matthews

Associate Members
Mrs Lianne Woodiwiss (Term of office 03/09/2009 - 31/08/2020)

If you would like to contact the Governors or the Clerk please either email 
 or telephone 01273 454066.
We've had 6 9 9 1 4 visitors